Deep Tissue-Full Body Sequence Please!!

Discussion of massage and bodywork techniques, along with holistic therapies, both generic and modality specific. A broad spectrum of discussion!

Moderators: stonegirl, riversinger

Deep Tissue-Full Body Sequence Please!!

Postby windspirit on Thu Sep 25, 2008 6:09 am

Hi All!!

I could use some help please, I am very new to Massage Therapy, graduated on Dec. 15th 2007 and I took my test in April and got my License in May of this year. So, as you can see I have not had much hands on experience.
Now getting to my question...I would like to know how you all do a full body massage for a client that wants deep tissue. It seems I am always running behind and find myself almost having to rush to stay within the hour. In school we just worked specific body areas, not doing a full session. Heck, I'm not even sure if I'm doing Deep Tissue correctly. We were taught to just go deeper and slower, so, when I go slower I get behind. I would just like someone to explain to me how to do this correctly and if you can tell me your routines/sequence that would be wonderful. Thank you so much, I really appreciate any help you can offer.

Have a great day!!
Ruthann
windspirit
Fresh Hands

Postby shivashiva on Thu Sep 25, 2008 8:11 am

When someone requests a deep tissue full body in one hour I flat out tell them it is not possible. I ask where their problem areas are that they really want deep work (usually back/neck but not always) and I tell them I can do deep tissue work on those areas and medium to deep swedish on the other areas.

Alternately you can do deep tissue on the other areas briefly. Even though you are going slowly, you can just do less detailed and specific work than you normally do. Just go over an area once, rather than really working it out they way you think you need to.