Do you receive many requests for Aromatherapy?

By request! This section is for discussion pertaining to the usage of aromatherapy.

Moderator: moogie

Do you receive many requests for Aromatherapy?

Postby andrea C on Sun Jan 30, 2011 7:01 am

I am just starting out in my career and am thinking of incorporating Aromatherapy.
Is there many requests for the use of Aromatherapy in your sessions?

I have read a lot of the topics/posts here and some links are broken. Does anyone know of an online home study class so I can familiarize myself with Aromatherapy?
Thank you
andrea C
Fresh Hands

Re: Do you receive many requests for Aromatherapy?

Postby squash_blsm on Sun Jan 30, 2011 9:29 am

As wonderful as aromatherapy is, I get very few requests for it.
And when I do, 9 out of 10 times they ask for lavender - which is far from my favorite aroma to work with.

Because I love it, I incorporate essential oils into my regular massages...
- I scent my hot towels
- I use a special sinus blend when client turns over to help clear their sinuses
- During cold and flu season I will often use "Thieves"

Although I use a few of their blends, I am not a fan of the Young Living essestial oils - that's a personal decision of mine. Some people think that their oils are the be all and end all of all therapeutic essential oils...meh, I don't. :grin:

One of the best ways to learn in the beginning is to just start using essential oils - there will be a few aromas/blends that you find you keep going back to and using. Pick up used or borrow as many books as you can.

I don't know enough about any on-line courses that would give you a good solid education. I have purchased many books on the subject and got a little bit out of all of them (including the book that Young Living uses to "prescribe"). I have long since sold all of the books - I don't think I kept any of them.