Working from Home

Discussion area for male practitioners on issues and topics related to their practice.

Moderators: Pete, JasonE

kymass1973
Fresh Hands

Working from Home

Post by kymass1973 » Wed Jun 19, 2013 10:34 am

I have been paying $425 a month for a room in a spa downtown. I chose this spa because they promised to help build my business with referrals, billboards, etc. So far I have only seen about 5 referrals, 4 of which the owner paid for their session. I was doing fine marketing myself. I went from 5 a week to 12 a week in a little over a year. I moved to this location, because it was downtown and visible, even though they dont even have a sign. It's been five months. About 90% of the new clients I have obtained since I start there, I got through marketing on my own baby budget. I am a male therapist, but I do have quite a nice little mix of blue and white colar clients. I have talked to my regulars. They would love to have me work on them at my home. With the $425 a month put back in my pocket, I feel that I could pay for all the marketing that was promised to me on my own. Thoughts? Opinions?

Pete
Retired Site Admin

Re: Working from Home

Post by Pete » Wed Jun 19, 2013 11:01 am

Depending on where you are located and the amenities of the spa, $425/mo for a room seems quite reasonable - with or without marketing support from the spa. How busy is the rest of the spa? It's possible they're doing marketing that's not working but it's also possible that they over-promised and under-delivered when you came in 5 months ago. Regardless, if you're averaging 12/week at this point, it seems you're doing fairly well especially if your own marketing efforts are continuing to attract new clients.