Perspective Spa Position, Possible Business Avenues

Discussion area for male practitioners on issues and topics related to their practice.

Moderators: Pete, JasonE

Satchmo
Fresh Hands

Perspective Spa Position, Possible Business Avenues

Post by Satchmo » Tue May 17, 2011 6:33 pm

Hi, I'm new here. I've been a therapist for a little over a year(fully certified and insured for 8 mo.) Apologies if this turns into an autobio, it feels like a precarious position I'm in and some of the things I am describing are jaw dropping- to me. I'm a male therapist, 24 yrs. old. I live in a rural area and went to a great massage school hear locally. After graduating I realized that because of the quality of the massage school, not only would I be a great therapist, but I would also have to compete with much more experienced great therapists. This has led my independent practice(mobile only, since I have never made enough $ or gotten enough clients to warrant renting a space)...pretty much no where. I went to LA last fall to find work, but got no where. It was not completely obvious, except for every other ad being "Female massage therapist wanted", that I would be up against a bias I would not overcome and out of the running for every job immediately, especially having limited experience at that point.