Male Therapist needs help!

Discussion area for male practitioners on issues and topics related to their practice.

Moderators: Pete, JasonE

bderama1286
Fresh Hands

Male Therapist needs help!

Post by bderama1286 » Tue Sep 21, 2010 9:51 am

Hi, I'm new to massage. I graduated in June of this year and I am employed by a clinic but I am having trouble getting clients. I guess I might be setting high expectations but as a male therapist I believe it is a lot harder to build a clientele. Does anyone have any suggestions on how I can market myself and get people interested in my massage? I don't have any special modalities yet as I have no taken any CEUs. Really, I am just lost in all aspects of promoting myself. Working for a clinic is nice but I work with a bunch of other therapists and even though male therapists are suggested first, most of the members seem to prefer a female. I would eventually like to have my own clients and work for myself. About how long does it take to have a steady flow of clients? Any input is appreciated. Thanks.

JasonE
Moderator-S.S.S

Re: Male Therapist needs help!

Post by JasonE » Tue Sep 21, 2010 9:50 pm

I see women face the same dilemma, but men do tend to have a little more trouble getting things started. If you comb through this "Male Practitioners" forum, look at the threads on professionalism, homophobia, etc. Also check the student forum thread on learning to drape. Then reread the thread on PROFESSIONALISM. To me, that is the key. Being a professional starts with working to project that image and living up to it.
Jason Erickson, NCTMB, ACE-CPT, AIS-TA
Massage Therapist, Personal Trainer
http://www.CSTMinnesota.com

Internet forums are like going to the zoo; if you get enough monkeys together, sooner or later someone will start throwing their poo.

Lrwlmt
Fresh Hands

Post by Lrwlmt » Mon Jan 31, 2011 5:31 am