About.com, Male vs Female MTs

Discussion area for male practitioners on issues and topics related to their practice.

Moderators: Pete, JasonE

boofdorf
Registered Member

About.com, Male vs Female MTs

Post by boofdorf » Wed Feb 27, 2008 2:43 pm

The early worm is for the birds.

Breathe
Registered Member

Post by Breathe » Wed Feb 27, 2008 5:20 pm

:smt104
abusing the word "actually" since 1973

NaplesLMT
Registered Member

Post by NaplesLMT » Thu Mar 06, 2008 3:40 pm

I am a male therapist. I have spent three years F/T at a "5 star" resort and spa. The article is accurate as to what happens at a spa with guest preferences. I can't vouch for anyone's reasons but they sound about right to me. The management does nothing proactive to keep the male therapists busy. It is all very passive and they just accept the guest preference without even trying a little bit. It certainly reflects on the corporate mentality of just making the most money and not caring about the individual employee. I was actually told I should be grateful for the job as though I did not earn every dollar with hard work.
Performing 1000 massages per year, I have been able to make a decent wage in part due to my abilility to upsell. Even with this, most female P/T therapists make more than me. I'm not whining. It's just the way it is.
I recently decided to leave that "slave trade" and focus on therapeutic and "medical/insurance" private practice. I am hoping that this type setting will help people in pain to set aside their discrimination and fears.
I shall try my best and enjoy being self employed again :)

RelaxandRejuvenate
Registered Member

Post by RelaxandRejuvenate » Thu Mar 06, 2008 4:07 pm

NaplesLMT wrote: It certainly reflects on the corporate mentality of just making the most money and not caring about the individual employee.
Another illogical feel-good statement.