Article in ABMP magazine

Discussion area for male practitioners on issues and topics related to their practice.

Moderators: Pete, JasonE

pamobilemassage
Fresh Hands

Article in ABMP magazine

Post by pamobilemassage » Wed Aug 22, 2007 6:02 am

I am a MT student to graduate in a month or so, and I was wondering is any one else offeneded by the article written in the ABMP magazine that makes such statements that men need to realize that they are going to have sexual urges about there clients. How can a female MT possibly understand the difficulties of being a male MT? This article does not discourage me from what I want to do , however it makes me question how a professional organization can publish an article that has so many detremintal comments about male MT's. Am I off-base in my assumptions from this article?

Rose of Sharon
Retired Site Admin

Post by Rose of Sharon » Wed Aug 22, 2007 6:07 am

I agree with you, that as a woman I cannot make statements of what men *will* think or feel in any given situation. Which magazine was this in? What was the article? Is there a link for it? I don't recall that - or maybe I haven't read it yet. I am a little behind on my reading..... :?
Sharon

Blisss
Registered Member

Post by Blisss » Wed Aug 22, 2007 6:09 am

Which article was it? Here's a link to the current issue:
http://www.massageandbodywork.com/currentiss.htm

I don't have time to read them all, but if you tell me which one you're referring to, I'd like to look at it.

moogie
Site Admin

Post by moogie » Wed Aug 22, 2007 6:44 am

I believe this is the article the original poster is refering to:

Massage from Mars or Venus?

Angie

Rose of Sharon
Retired Site Admin

Post by Rose of Sharon » Wed Aug 22, 2007 7:12 am

Okay, I just read it. I have to say, while there is some good information intertwined with the ..... :roll: stuff....... I am not impressed.

Yes, we are sexual beings. No, that is not ALL we are. Duh.