New too!!

Introduce yourself; tell us your birthday; become a part of our community!

Moderator: GreenDragonfly

New too!!

Postby 2ndxsachrm on Mon Jul 18, 2011 5:32 pm

Hey! I'm new to this forum... I'm actually here to get peoples thoughts on my most recent lifestyle change... I graduated from my massage program back in 02 and did massage for about a year but I was young and stupid on MANY levels and left the profession for nannying, and decided to go back to school to get my bachelors in psychology but recently I have been pulled back into massage for its great healing abilities and think that thats where my future lays... the problem is I live in a state that requires the NCETMB which is fine I can study my butt off for that, I do feel that I am a bit rusty massage techniques wise and wondered what everyone thought would be the best way to re-acclimate myself to the profession... any thoughts or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!! thanks!!
2ndxsachrm
Fresh Hands

Re: New too!!

Postby Rozax on Mon Jul 18, 2011 9:19 pm

Putting first things first: breathe. Everything will fall into place when you take the proper steps, but everything is not going to happen one night. If you want guidelines for the NCETMB (NCETM, in my case - I didn't wanna do the Bodywork portion), you can look it up a review manual. This is the one that came with my school books.

Read it through, see whatcha know, study up on what's in there. Just don't let it overwhelm you.

As for rusty massage techniques, there's only one solution to that: convince your friends that they need a massage so that you can practice on them. :)
This user doesn't visit here, anymore. Move along.
poem-massage.org
Rozax
Registered Member

Postby Pete on Tue Jul 19, 2011 9:29 am

Rozax wrote:As for rusty massage techniques, there's only one solution to that: convince your friends that they need a massage so that you can practice on them. :)

Well, you could also take some CEUs to get back into it...
Pete