Client left after Professional massage disclosure! Help!

A discussion board for matters relating to appropriate business and practice ethics, matters regarding conduct of clients and practitioners as well as a place to discuss dilemmas that cross our paths.

Moderators: riversinger, jdcan

Client left after Professional massage disclosure! Help!

Postby sunsetwaves on Fri Sep 23, 2011 8:14 am

Hi everyone. After reading this board for sometime, I've decided to register and ask opinions for fellow MT's, as well as start responding to several posts myself. I am a licensed Massage Therapist in New York. I live outside of the city in an area that is not saturated with inappropriate asian parlors (thank goodness). I have my own office in a professional building. Today, a gentleman drove 45 min in the rain (from a town that has those type of inappropriate asian parlors), looking for something other than a professional massage. I discovered this after I reviewed my disclaimer with him before the session. My usual routine is to review the medical intake form, then review a disclaimer with them that indicates that I only provide professional non sexual massage, and that the massage is ended immediately if the client suggests or does anything inappropriate. After I drove in the rain myself to meet him (I only go in my office when there's a scheduled client), he friekin leaves after I read him that disclaimer. He said that he likes to get his "ending" after his massage, and that he's used to "massage therapy" places that do that to him. I asked him if these "massage therapy" places are asian places. He said yes. So I told him that I am a professional, and that I never advertised, nor discussed with him over the phone that I would offer anything more than a massage. So he left. This has happened once before. What frustrates me is that I spend the gas and the time to drive to my office, set it up, only to have my time wasted as well when I never even advertised that I offer thi