Top 10 Current Schools?

Interested in a particular curriculum or just want to find more information about a certain institution. Looking for colleagues from your alma mater? Gather 'round, we've got a place for you.

Moderator: stonegirl

EgoMagickian
Tech Admin

Top 10 Current Schools?

Post by EgoMagickian » Thu Mar 05, 2009 12:23 am

Hey folks,

So now that Heartwood is on hiatus (last I heard, the new owners are pausing enrollment while they seriously upgrade the place! Woot!) and DIHA got bought by Cortiva (boo! hiss!), what are the top places in the US to learn massage?

If a new student on the boards could pick ANY place to study and asked you, where would you recommend?

I'll throw out two:
1. Esalen of course
2. Northwestern HSU (JasonE, your school looks seriously rockin!)

Amy
Registered Member

Post by Amy » Thu Mar 05, 2009 7:24 am

I am also a graduate of Northwestern HSU, graduated a year ahead of Jason.

Great school indeed.

Blisss
Registered Member

Post by Blisss » Thu Mar 05, 2009 9:52 am

This school wasn't open when I went to massage school, but it's the one I'd choose now:

http://www.ashevillemassageschool.org

The emphasis on self-care is truly impressive, and includes personal yoga training as well as self-care immersion retreats as part of the core curriculum.

akashafive
Registered Member

Post by akashafive » Fri Mar 06, 2009 8:20 am

I would have to recommend http://www.swedishinstitute.edu in NYC. With 93 years of teaching massage therapy, the quality really shows in their program. I picked them over all the other (very good) schools in and around NY state, and I do not regret it. 8)
-Akasha
"Happiness is a journey, not a destination."
-Nancy Giles

JesseLA
Fresh Hands

Re: Top 10 Current Schools?

Post by JesseLA » Thu Jun 18, 2009 11:50 am

California Healing Arts College in Los Angeles

"Massage for Dummies, lists California Healing Arts College as one of the Top Ten Massage Schools in the United States."